
 

South African Mixed Trials 
 

 

 

THE CURRENT STATE OF AFFAIRS IN THE SA MIXED TRIALS 

 

After the first day of play and 4 short board matches have been completed, four pairs have 
slightly edged ahead of the remaining eight. Glen Holman and Michele Alexander are in the 
lead with Larry Chemaly and Sharon Lang close behind, then Duncan Keet and Carol Stanton 
with Phil King and Merle Bracher in 4th spot. These pairs all have scores in the 50+ VP range 
and the husband and wife pairing of Terry and Jan East with 45.33VPs are at the top of the 
chasing group. However, we all know how one bad board can seriously alter the situation so 
all is not lost for those further down the field at the moment. Good Luck to all players for the 
second day of Qualifying Matches.  

 

I was out at lunch last Friday with Carol Grunder (as I am currently on holiday in Cape Town), 
and she mentioned that the other Carol (Stanton - online name: carol2007) had done really 
well in the 2024 WBF Women's Online Spring Festival. She had finished 2nd overall with a 
strong score of 12.92 points. She came 3rd in the Individual (robot) Winner category, while 
Vanessa Armstrong came 2nd in the Individual (human) Winner category.  Congratulations to 
both ladies - a fine achievement! 

To see more details of this online BBO event, head over to the following news article: 

https://tinyurl.com/womensonlinefestival 

 

 

 Deirdre Ingersent  

Bulletin: Number 9 



MIXED PAIRS QUALIFIERS – RESULTS BY ROUND 

 

 

 

 



DAY 2 – MATCH SCHEDULE 

 
 

Some of the players from JHB: 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

Lex van Vught Jude Apteker Rita Gawron 



Declarer Play 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This complex play hand came up in the 1st round of the Mixed Pairs Trials. 

On the bidding shown West led the Q♣ and the King was won in dummy. Now declarer can count that he has 2 
Spades, 3 Hearts, 1 Diamond and 2 Clubs. What is the best play for a 9th trick before opponents get 5 tricks? 
Obviously, declarer should knock out the A♥ first. All the declarers tried this and now 3 were rewarded with a 
misdefence by West who returned a heart. Now declarer must decide whether to play on Spades or Diamonds. 
The best play for 3 tricks in Spades is to play the Ace followed by the King. If neither the 10 nor queen appears, 
play low to the Jack. Chance of 3 tricks is 77% on this line as it only loses to ♣Q10xx in the East hand. Playing 
on diamonds, declarer would plan to take 2 diamond finesses. The chance of this working is 75%. Looks like 
playing on Spades has a slight edge but we can combine chances by playing off 2 top spades and if nothing 
happens, we can change tack and take 2 diamond finesses. I cannot give exact figures, but I suspect that this is 
the best line by a significant margin.   

On the actual hand any line works so this was a flat board bar 1 pair who went down after receiving the correct 
defence of a club continuation after winning the A♥. Declarer went astray by failing to decide whether to play 
on Spades or Diamonds and pitched one of each on the next 2 rounds of clubs. Now the spade finesse spelt 
defeat.  

The bidding on this hand was curious as at most tables the bidding went as shown. I wonder what 2NT means 
by the North hand. Playing standard, this should show 18-19 HCP balanced. I don’t think the North hand is 
worth more than 2NT as if partner only has 6 HCP, game is unlikely. South would have no problem bidding 3NT 
after 2NT. 

 

 

 



Defence 
 

Most players find defence the hardest part to the game. The following hand illustrates how to think when 
defending: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The bidding was similar at most tables and East lead a low heart to declarer’s King. Declarer then played off 7 
diamonds. From both sides of the table defenders should reason that if declarer has any outside aces, it will be 
impossible to beat the contract and they should therefore place the missing aces in partner’s hand. This 
makes it quite easy. East must hold onto his remaining hearts and West must win any spade or Club play 
immediately and return hearts.  

2 tables in the mixed pairs lost their way and allowed 3NT to make for a loss of 9.2 imps. In both cases, East 
pitched a heart making defeat of 3NT impossible. The bottom line is count, Count, COUNT.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Opening Leads 
 

 

 

 

 

Opening leads can be very difficult, but sometimes clear reasoning will lead you the correct answer. After the 
above auction, you, South, are on lead. What’s your choice?  

 

 

 

 

 

I contend that if you gave this hand to a panel of experts, there would be an almost unanimous vote for the A♥.  

Let’s work out the reasoning. On this bidding partner has a maximum of 3-4 high card points. Declarer has no 
major and therefore has at least 7 cards in the minors.  Our best chance of beating this contract must be to 
hope that our values combine well. If partner has the K♥ we might take 4 or 5 heart tricks plus the ace of 
diamonds. If partner has the J♥ we might take 3 or 4 heart tricks, the A♦ and another trick with partner’s 
remaining 2-3 points. 5 small hearts in partners hand may allow us to take 4 heart tricks plus the diamond ace. 
Leading a diamond (4th best) even if partner has the King, we will still need to take 2 heart tricks meaning that 
the K♥ must be in declarer’s hand (unlikely as declarer has a weak hand) and in addition, partner will have to 
find a heart switch after winning the K♦. Not an easy defence. The advantage of leading the A♥ may be that a 
diamond switch may still be possible if a heart continuation looks unappetizing.  
 

The full hand: 

Call me a result merchant, if you will, but I 
think the reasoning is clear. Trying a 
passive defence, hoping to scramble 5 
tricks, is unlikely to work and what would 
be a passive lead?  

In the mixed trials only one of the pairs 
found the winning defence and this was 
because North found himself on lead and 
led 4th highest heart.   

Note again the 3NT bid by West (this was 
the choice at most tables that got to 3NT). 
I wonder what 2NT would have meant?  

 

 

 



The Hold Up Play 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After the natural heart lead by South, declarer should realise that he has a lot of work to do and needs to let 
opponents in a few times. As East is not worried should North switch suits after winning the 10♥, it is clear that 
he should duck hoping to cut communication between the defenders. This play has the effect of neutralizing 
South’s hearts and now declarer can go about setting up 9 tricks. It will require some guessing, but this is 
East’s best chance.  

 

 

 

 

 

Successful pairs steered the contract into the West hand by expediently bidding a direct 3NT over 1♦ (this 
seems a fairly obvious choice) and now North lead a spade. Once North’s A♦ was knocked out, the spades 
were neutralized and declarer could easily come to 2 spades, 2 hearts, 3 diamonds and 2 clubs.  

 

 

 

 

 

 



Pre-empts 
 

 

 

 
 

First to speak, not vul vs vul, what do you open? 

Pre-empts often make things diƯicult for opponents but they can also make things diƯicult for partner. I have a 
strict rule that I will not pre-empt with 2 ‘sharp’ cards (Aces and Kings) outside my suit. Some experts are 
reluctant to pre-empt when they have 1 sharp card outside their main suit in first or second position. Sharp 
cards are defensive values that will come back to bite if partner takes a phantom save against opponent’s 
contract and perhaps more importantly it makes it very diƯicult for partner to judge the potential of the hand for 
our side. Occasionally these sharp cards mean you cannot make 3♦, but opponents cannot make anything 
either.  

4 of 6 pairs chose to open 3♦.  Justice was served when only those who opened 1 ♦ with the above hand 
managed to buy the contract in 5♦ and when opponents failed to find the successful defence were rewarded 
with plus 600. Those who pre-empted allowed opponents to play undoubled in 4 or 5 spades as they did not 
know that the pre-emptor had so much defence.  

Time for the full hand: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All of the above articles were submitted by Bernard Donde. 



Now for something more advanced….. 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The following hand came up in the 2nd round of the trials today and I immediately recognised the opportunity to 
discuss a very useful convention that is not particularly well known by many of our bridge players.  

Let’s assume that our partner opens 31 and we hold the South hand. It is clear that if our partner holds a good 
variety of her hand, slam is a real possibility. Failing that, game will be the limit.  

Without any fancy agreements I think most of us will count potential tricks between the two hands and come to 
about 11+ when partner produces a decent heart suit (71 1S 22 1C). Now it is all good and well to go in search 
of a slam if partner produces a hand that can produce these tricks BUT we have all seen our partners open 31 on 
much less than the hand above, especially when not vulnerable e.g. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This time (hopefully non vulnerable) our partner produces the dreaded Dead Swan (this is the name for a 7222 
hand and not a very flattering one at that) with very little playing strength and nothing much in the line of high 
cards.  

So the question arises how a player deals with this problem where a Keycard ask (4NT for most of us) might not 
really reveal much regarding the quality of a pre-emptive opening by our partner, where slam will most likely 
depend on a better, rather than a really weak pre-empt.  

 

This gives life to……….. 

 

 



 

Optional Keycard 

Over opening bids of 32 31 and 3S, we could have an agreement that a bid of 4C is a low level keycard ask. 3C - 
4C is excluded here as this would be a mere extension of the pre-empt. How many times have you wanted to bid 
a natural 4C when your partner has his own 7-card suit? Once in a blue moon sounds like the correct answer!  

So let’s agree that 4C is Keycard but not just normal keycard, OPTIONAL KEYCARD. Now what does this mean 
and how does this work?  

4C = Partner please show me your keycards IF you think that you have a decent hand in the context of being a 31 
pre-emptor. A good partnership understanding here will be useful as to which hands are decent vs not for our 
purposes. In our sample hand above I think we can all agree that the North hand is just about as good as a pre-
empt gets, vulnerable or not vulnerable (In fact a few players were so enamoured with this hand that they opened 
11).  

Let’s address the word IF in the paragraph above. Partner must show keycards only IF he deems his hand a good 
one. What on earth does he do if he opened on something very poor?  

Well, the answer is he bids the next step up = 42. This is a mere warning to partner that he is opposite a hand that 
might not be anything to write home about and that might make a bulletin for all the wrong reasons.  

So, we have 4C – 42(be careful partner). What does the asker do next? Well if the asker depended on a better 
version of a pre-empt to explore slam he simply signs oƯ so 4C – 42 – 41. 

If the asker still wants to carry on to a potential slam and wants to find out about keycards he now reinstates the 
keycard ask by bidding the next suit up = 4S. After this the pre-emptor simply responds in steps up the line: 

 4NT = 1/4  

 5C = 0/3 Etc.  

If the pre-emptor deems his hand to be of the better variety, he simply shows keycards in normal steps but 
remember that 42 is not a keycard step. So in the hand above it would go: 

31 - 4C (Optional Keycard) – 41 (I have a better hand so 1/4 Keycards) - 4S (Do you have the Q?) – 61(I do). 

 

In Conclusion 

Some pairs have extended this brilliant principle of OPTIONAL KEYCARD to whenever they have a keycard auction 
at a lower level (such as Minorwood or Kickback). Partner’s first duty is to let the asker know whether their hand 
is slam suitable in context. If not, they bid the first step. I believe that any serious player who has elected to play 
Minorwood, should consider adding this refinement, and their slam bidding will improve dramatically.  

 

Submitted by Hennie Fick 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Novices’ (& Advancing player’s) Corner 
 

The Balancing Act 

 

“To bid or not to bid, that is the question”, not quite Shakespeare but that is the query we find ourselves 
addressing in this bulletin.  

In the first match of today my partner found himself in 1♥. The opponents defended for their lives and there 
were no defensive errors.  Partner calmly wrapped up 7 tricks, to give us a lovely 4 imp gain on the hand. We so 
often forget that defence does not start and end in the card play it begins in the bidding. When your opponents 
are in a low-level contract there is always an option of ‘balancing’.  

What is balancing? You are in the ‘balancing’ position when your pass will end the bidding and mark the 
beginning of the card play portion of bridge e.g 1♥-p-p-? If you pass the auction ends. If you bid the level goes 
higher and the contract or who is playing it may change. We generally only do this if the auction is going to end 
at a very low level.  

Why do we balance? We balance to disturb our opponents out of a comfortable contract into one where they 
may be in a level too high. This shifts the fight. Instead of us having to fight for our lives to defend an easy simple 
1 level contract they now have to fight for that extra trick. There may also be the added gain of us finding a fit 
and being able to play the contract.   

Let’s take a look at the hand from the Mixed Pairs Trials today.  

Should you bid with South’s hand? 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Take out doubles generally promise (as Andrew Robson has coined SOS) Shortage in the opponent’s suit, 
Opening hand, Support for the other 3 suits. Here South does not have the Opening hand portion of the 
requirements for a double. However, she is a passed hand. Therefore, her partner will know that she has the 
other requirements but not the opening hand. She can support the other 3 suits perfectly and is likely to find a 
fit. If partner has 4 cards in ♠ they can play at the one level and if the opponents bid 2♥, they may find 
themselves a level too high. I think we can all see double by the South hand will easily be understood by her 
partner. But what if she wasn’t a passed hand? Should she still balance? YES 

 

 

 



When we balance, we are not just bidding oƯ the strength in our own hand. We are also bidding  
    oƯ the implied strength of our partner. Very often when the bidding goes 1X - P - P - ? We are pretty certain 
that because East has nothing (else she would bid) the distribution of High Card Points is probably close to 20-
20 between the 2 partnerships. There are many hands where our partner may have strength but just does not 
have the right hand to bid. For example:  
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Does North have a bid after 1♥? Absolutely not! They can’t double (no support for the other 3 suits and no 
shortage in the opener’s suit). They can’t bid 1♠as they don’t have 5 cards in ♠. They can’t bid 1NT because 
they don’t have 15-18. They have to pass. If you as South do not bid you have lost the chance to play in 4♠. This 
is why the balancing seat has fewer restrictions than in the other seats. If you are in the balancing seat (you 
should also note this if you are the partner of the player in the balancing seat), double promises 

9+ HCP and support for the other 3 suits. 
It protects the partnership from situations like the hand that was played in trials. At the very least it pushes the 
opponents up and gives you the opportunity to find fits for your side.  
 

The general structure for balancing is: 

Dbl = 9+HCP and support for the other 3 suits. 
1NT = 12-14 and a balanced hand. 
Double then bidding a NT shows 15-17 and a balanced hand. 
 

If you note the HCP for each of these bids it is always 3 points less than the normal bids. You are bidding oƯ a 
presumed strength between the 2 of you because your opponents are letting the auction die.  

Only 2 pairs failed to double in the Mixed Trials and they lost 4.6 imps. Pairs who got to 4♥, all chose to bid with 
the very poor East hand and this propelled the auction to 4♥, 3 down. 1 pair balanced when 1 ♥ was passed 
round to him and the balancing double led to the comfortable contract of 2♠, gaining 2.8 imps.  

These results, I hope, will convince you to investigate balancing more thoroughly (check out Mike Lawrence’s 
book “The complete book on balancing”): 

 

 
 

 

 

 

Submitted by Carol Stanton 



BRIDGE ETIQUETTE! 
 

The first of a number of short articles intended as a refresher course for what should happen at a bridge table!  

COURTESY must be the most important thing in everyone's mind when they first sit down at the table. Greet 
your opponents and state briefly your system - Standard American, 2 over 1, Precision for example. It is 
interesting that in our big Club in Johannesburg where most folk play 5 card majors and a strong NT, no 
announcement is made! A few pairs play 4 card majors and they state this and our Precision players always 
declare their system.  

 

Now to what happens next -  

 

1. The cards should not be taken out of the board until all players are present. When you have removed your 
cards, but before looking at them, count them to ensure you have 13. It is surprising how few players do this!  

 

2.  Avoid 'hovering' over the bidding box and do not touch any bidding card until you have decided on your bid. 
(This is a common beginner bridge player thing when they are not sure what to do!)  
 

3.  Bidding cards must remain on the table, with the bids clearly visible, until the opening lead has been faced.  

 

4.  When you are on opening lead, lay your chosen card FACE DOWN on the table. This prevents irregularities 
such as leading when it is not your turn to do so and allows questions about the auction and any alerts to be 
answered.  All players, except dummy, may now request a review of the auction and an explanation of any 
alerted calls.  

 

5.  When play starts, do not detach a card from your hand until it is your turn to play.  Do not pull up a card, push 
it back into your hand and then pull up another card.  You should not re-arrange your hand when you are out of a 
suit. Any of these manoeuvres could provide information to the declarer or your partner. (Again a common error 
amongst beginner players who are not sure of which card to play)  

 

6.  North is responsible for the proper observance of all procedures at the table, such as ensuring the right 
opponents are present and the right boards are being played with the correct orientation. Only one board on 
the table at a time.  North is responsible for the input of the contract and result into the bridgemate while East 
is responsible that the entry is correct. (Another problem which can occur at our small club where players are 
rather lax about checking the entry) 

 

To be continued in our next Bulletin!  

 

Submitted by Deirdre Ingersent 

 


