South African Mixed Trials Bulletin: Number 13

ALL DOWN TO THE WIRE!

With only one round to go, it would seem that just one pair is assured of a Top Three finish and that is Larry
Chemaly and Sharon Lang who are out front at present with 137.06 VPs. The chasing group are a good few
points behind - Terry and Jan East with 118.13 VPs (lying 2nd at present), then in 3rd Duncan Keet and Carol
Stanton with 113.77 VPs, just a whisper ahead of Glen Holman and Michele Alexander in 4th with113.24 VPs
and on their heels Andre Van Niekerk and Rose Duff, 110.24 VPs.

Will nerves enter into the competition at all tomorrow one wonders as Larry and Sharon face Terry and Jan?
Nothing in the game of Bridge is ever certain. It is going to be a nail-biting end to the week...

GOOD LUCK to all the players!

v Deirdre Ingersent

[ FINAL DAY - MATCH SCHEDULE

o 1 |KEET, Duncan STANTON, Carol ZIMET, Erica REYNOLDS, Paul

(2? = 4 2 |CHEMALY, Larry LANG, Sharon EAST, Jan EAST, Terry

% g 3 |WARD, Peter MODLIN, Merle DUFF, Rose VAN NIEKERK, Andre
= 4 |KING, Phil BRACHER, Merle ALEXANDER, Michele = HOLMAN, Glen

[ MIXED PAIRS FINALS - RESULTS BY ROUND

TOTAL Be/fe] Round 1 Round 2 Round 3 Round 4 Round 5 Round 6

Players Rank
VPs VPs IMPS| VPs | IMPS| VPs | IMPS] VPs | IMPS| VPs | IMPS| VPs [ IMPS| VPs

Lamy Chermslies 1 |137.06| 5939| 33|17.17| 18|1460| -10| 720 4|1120| 14|1375| 14|13.75
Sharon Lang

Terry East & lan East] 2 |118.13) 67.41 1]/10.31 -2| 8.39| -13| 648 -13| 6.48 12.03| -15| 6.03

~

Duncan Keet &
3 |113.77 ) 51.47 17 114.39

w

10.91 14113.75 -41 8.80 -7 7.97| -13| 6.48
Carol Stanton

Glen Holman &

12.29 13 113.52
Michele Alexander

4 |113.24) 58.13 -1 9.69| -24| 4.26 101280 -35| 2.55

(]

Andre Van Niekerk

10.61| -14| 6.25 351745 -12| 6.72| -14| 6.25
& Rose Duff

5 |1110.24) 48.99 15]13.97

)

Peter Ward & Merle

Modlin 6 (104.32) 4484 -17| 5.61| -18| 5.40 9| 7.45 5219.34 8| 7.71 15113.97

Phil King & Merle

7 |102.60) 56.50| -33| 2.83 -3 9.09 13|113.52| -52| 0.66 12(13.28| -12| 6.72
Bracher

Paul Reynolds &

< : 8 |[100.63) 33.26| -15| 6.03 24 115.74 9112.55 131352 -14| 6.25 12 | 13.28
Erica Zimet




[ Optional Keycard Blackwood & Psyche all Rolled into One! ]

m teeast W “ E | Jan East (SweetieE) made a brilliant

& 104 3¢ P 4a | bidof4# alerted as optional
¥ Q9 P 4NT P 5¢ | keycard blackwood on this hand.
¢ AKJ10874 P P B Why brilliant? She had no intention
& 102 of ever bidding a slam but she

o anted to discourage East/West
B0 horace 1 W= rixi181 W > discourag ,
from getting to what seemed like an

& AKJS & Q98732 )
easy 48 or doubling 5¢.
¥ 10653 ¥ K42 Unsuspecting, Terry East (teeast)
¢ ¢ 652 responded that he was slam
% QJ743 % A

suitable and showed 2 keycards
without the Q4 (4NT). He must have
been disappointed when Jan

B} SweetieE
606

¥ AJ87

¢ Q93

% K9865 Zimet led her singleton A®, smartly
switched to a spade and got a club ruff. Despite this good defence, minus 100 for N/S was worth a well earned

stopped in 5¢. The defence was
good against this contract. Erica

4 imps when two E/W pairs got to the making 4. Sometimes psychology beats science.

[ Visualisation ]

Glen Holman (glensa) made an
excellent defensive play on this
board when partner led 4" highest
spade against East’s 3NT contract.
What was his reason for not playing
third hand high?

W N E S

P 24 P
2¢v P 2NT P
NT P P P

B=l merl66

If partner has led from a 4-card suit,

A
cngleton, This must o an honour o e
' ¢ AJ643

else partner would have led a high
card. In this case, there is no pointin
putting in the Jack. If partner has led

% KQJ

lady macb

from a 3-card suit to an honour, & KQ42

again there is no value in putting in ¥ J96

the Jack as declarer must have AK, ¢ K2

KQ or AQ bare. In any of these % 8754 NS: 0 EW: 0

cases, it cannot gain to put in the

Jack. When South won the K and played a low spade to Glen’s Jack. Glen carefully cashed the Ace of clubs
before returning Spades. One off scored 10.33 imps. Well done!!



| Walking the Dog

RU2 impalaphil
& A865
v4

¢ 1054
% 98542

o

¥ KQJ8762
o AJ
& QJ73

S

& QJ97432
¥ A3

¢ 97

& A10

NS: 0 EW: 0

Walking the dog is a tactic in bridge

& K10 1v 1a where you deliberately underbid your
¥ 1095 P 24 2v 2a | handandthencome out of the woods
¢ KQ8632 P P 4v P and make your final bid hoping to buy
& K6 P P the contract. Here, Merle Bracher

(stacey31) made atactical underbid of
2% but on her third turn came out of the
woods and bid 49. When South made
the unfortunate lead of the Q®, it didn’t
take her long to wrap up 10 tricks. This
tactic earned a whopping 14 imps. Why
such a big swing?

North/South have an easy 10 tricks in

4. You be the judge. Who was to blame
for N/S missing this easy game?

In my opinion, | assign most of the blame to North who didn’t appreciate that when South rebid 2 over 29, this

showed a 6 card and at least an opening hand. Why?

With a weaker hand, South would have made a weak jump overcall the first time, especially at the prevailing

vulnerability (not vul vs vul). North should have raised 24 to 3# but this does not detract from East’s tactical

underbid.

[ Walking the Cat?

East paid a heavy price for not taking m Dunx W N E S
immediate action after partner made & KJ103 P P 1%

a weak jump overcall in Hearts. Had ¥ 43 2y P P 2e
she bid 3® immediately, it would ¢ 6432 P P 3v P
have been very difficult for South to & J82 E: ?_? 4: 4e .
bid again and the spade fit would be horace1 E rixi181

lost. Lesson to be learnt is that you a8 & 7652

should bid to the limit the first time

and then keep silent and hope : §86J7962 : A1%857
opponents get it wrong. & 96 & (K)3

% AQ10754




[ Cashing Out

Il teeast

& 542
¥ 86

4 9876
% /1082

horace

& 010
¥ KQJ10974

¢ KJ2
% 0

NS: 3 EW: 1

Defending 4% was not as easy as it
appears when you look at all 4 hands.
North led the J# which held the trick.
He could see that there was no future
in clubs and switched to a diamond.
When South won the A®, she
switched to the K®. Declarer dropped
a deceptive Q® and a crossroad was
reached. Defenders had 3 tricks and
South must decide whether to cash a
top club or a top spade. How can
South know which one to play?

Many players play that on the lead of
a King in the middle of the hand, it
requests partner to give a count

signal. North played the 5 showing

an odd number, if playing upside down count. This should have been the clue for South to cash the K®, as if
North has 3 spades (odd number), then declarer has 2. If declarer had a singleton Queen, then North would

have 4 spades, and would’ve played the 2 (even # of cards).

Once the Q® appears, North should give a count signal as attitude is known.

| 4vs. 11

I’'ve mentioned this point before.
When partner doubles a high-level
contract for takeout as in this hand,
do not bid with a balanced hand. Itis
much easier to take 4 tricks in
defence than to make 11 tricks as
declarer, when you are balanced.

& Q5

larryc777

& KJ7
¥ K8763
¢ A73
% Q8

¢ 10

m horace1

Y QJ4
¢ Q865
% 10743

=N rixi181

¥ A952
¢ KJ102
% AK96

P 34 X
44 P P X
P 5 P P
X P P P
B sharrie
& A986432
¥ 10
¢ 94
S J52

NS: 0 EW: 0




| A Little bit of Everything...

YN InTime
& 962

¥ 10

4 J10765
% JO84

WA larryc777
& A84

¥ Q9743
¢ Q3
% A53

tarankaur

& 10753
¥ AJ852
¢ AK8
6

3NT W NS: 0 EW: 0

This hand has points of interest in the bidding, declarer play and defence.

Declarer play: North led the 109. It looks natural to play the king on this lead as you can later finesse the 9% to
make an extra trick. However, the last thing you want on the hand is for the defenders to switch to diamonds
where they can take a minimum of 4 more tricks. Larry smartly played a low heart and South ducked. 9 tricks
were now there for the taking.

Defence: North needs to understand what this bidding means. When West passes originally and then
suddenly comes to life with a 3NT bid, this can only mean one thing: He was planning on passing 19 for
penalties if partner reopened with a takeout double. This makes the lead of a singleton heart unattractive and
North has an easy diamond lead which will result in 2 down.

Bidding: What should East do when 19 is passed round to her. Bidding 24 definitely promises a 6-card suit.
When you play negative doubles, you should always be aware that partner might be lurking and waiting for you
to reopen with a double. The shortage in hearts and support for the other suits makes it clear that East should
reopen with a double rather than rebid a 5-card club suit.

All of the above hands were submitted by Bernard Donde



Novice & Advancing Players’ Corner

There are no blind leads, only deaf ones

Leading against No Trumps, we are taught early on to lead 4" highest of our longest and strongest suit. Why?
Because making a No-Trump contract or defending a No-Trump contract is a RACE for tricks. It is often a race to
see who can set up their longest suit first. What happens in an auction where partner has not overcalled but the
opponents have declined to show length in a Major, e.g. 1NT-3NT, 1#-3NT, etc. If our opponents have not gone
via Stayman or no one has shown any major suit length then what do we do? It becomes more likely that
opponents have a weakness in one of the major suits and this makes it more attractive to lead a major rather
than a minor.

Let’s look at a hand from today...

W N E S On this auction North does not have a 4 card Major. Your best chance of setting
1& | up your suit before the opponents are able to take 9 tricks is to lead a Major and

P 3NT P P not a minor suit. The opponents are likely to have more cards in the minors than in

P the Majors. Even though your diamonds are stronger than your hearts, you should

choose to lead hearts for the reasons given above.

lady macb
& 983

¥ K1032
¢ KJ52

% 32

Here is the full hand:

Note that even though the heart lead
allows declarer to win a trick with

P 3NT P P queen, your side has won the race to
P get 5 tricks before declarer can get
9.

YN Dunx
& 1076

¥ AQ8
¢ AQ4
% J1075

glensa E lady macb On the auction given, it would also
& AK42 083 not be unreasonable to lead high
¥ J9654 ¥ K1032 spade hoping to find partner’s long
¢ 93 ¢ KJ52 suit. On this lead, partner would win
% 08 & 32 the King and would realise that you

have 4 hearts (make sure you
understand why). He would
therefore switch to a heart which
allows you to win the race. Leading
¢ 10876 an initial diamond, however, may be
% AKQ64 e DR fatal as you have lost the race to set

up a long suit for your side.

5[8

Par Score: 110
Par: NS 3&

The RACE in NT is always to set up the partnership’s longest combined suit, so listen to the auction to help you
to decide which suit to lead.

Submitted by Carol Stanton



BRIDGE ETIQUETTE!

ALL ABOUT THE TOURNAMENT DIRECTOR (T.D.)

The T.D.'s responsibilities include handling all law and rule infractions as well as running a smooth and pleasant
game. He is providing a valuable service to the players and must be called in a courteous manner when law
infractions, hesitations, rude behaviour or problems of any kind occur and there is NO stigma or personal
agenda attached to doing this. The rules were designed to ensure that no-one is prejudiced by an infraction like
'a lead out of turn' or 'a bid out of turn'.

However here is something that should not happen. If someone asks what a bid means when it is not their turn
to bid, a player at the table should not shout at them and say it is not your turn to ask but call the T.D. whose
duty it is to explain why asking out of turn may give partner unauthorised information which may prejudice the
opponents. New players to the game are often guilty of this and one does not want them to be put off duplicate
bridge by being shouted at!

As a bridge player one needs to learn the basic bridge laws covering such things as dummy's rights, penalty
cards and knowing your responsibilities at the table. This includes entering and checking scores on the
Bridgemate. It is best that all players learn how to operate the Bridgemate correctly. At our small Club,
correcting mistakes still happens fairly often, and the most common error is entering the contract wrongly!

A question which came up at our small Club was the following. Is it OK for a player when ruffing a trick or
discarding to state 'Having None'.

The answer is no, as this could be thought of as imparting information to one's partner. However, it is allowed,
and a good idea, for the player's partner to enquire 'Having None?' as it can help to prevent revokes.

This concludes the Bridge Etiquette Series but if anyone has questions, | can perhaps handle them in the next
SA Bulletin.

Submitted by Deirdre Ingersent



